Contact and Committe Info - Last updated 12/11/14 



Note: If you are looking for the phone list, go to the "Players Only" page.





Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 59262
Birmingham, AL 35259


Paypal Address:


Krebs Field at Ramsay Park Address:
3601 Country Club Rd
Birmingham, AL 35213

205-933-MAUL (6285)

President: Michael Laney

Vice President of Operations: Marco Callaway
Vice President of General Affairs: Matthew Colson (Rogaine)
Match Secretary: Shaun LaForty
TreasurerCaj Anderson

Tournament Director: Michele Yarbrough


Coaching Staff:

15s Head Coach: Allen Kipp

15s Assistant Coach and UAB Head Coach: Jon Sullivan

7s Coach and 15s Backs Coach / "Attack Coach": Tommy Babakitis

7s Assistant Coach: Marco Callaway



Other Board Members include:

Director of Rugby: Allen Kipp

Social Director: TBD

Publicity Director and Head of Social Media = Zach Ronk (Amish). Jon Sullivan (BIBS) is the assistant.

Old Boys Liaisons / General Board Members: Mike Estock, Bernard Frei, Hal Mayo, Chris Hudson, Mark Wellingham, and Mike Hartsell

Youth Rugby Commissioner for Central Alabama Youth Rugby (based in Birmingham): Patti Bennett 205-919-9555 (updated 11/10/14)

Web Master: Michael Laney




Merchandise Coordinators:

Elizabeth-Anne Ronk (added 8/18/14)

Jamie Stewart (added 8/18/14)

Field Committee:  Responsible for ensuring that the pitch is mowed weekly as needed, is in charge of spreading seed, fertilizer, sand, making sure the field is watered.

Fred Dickinson (added 2/19/14) - head of committee as of 8/27/14

Jonathan Beale (added 9/4/13)

Hunter Reynolds (Lips) (added 2/14/14)

Quinn Runnion (added 2/14/14)

Eric Ramsey (added 2/14/14)

Bobby Smith

Hunter Garrity

Brendan Smith (added 9/4/13)

Andrew Whatley (added 9/18/13)


Everyone else on the team is also on the Field Committee, unless you are already on another committee


Phone Hotline (205-933-MAUL): Zac Ronk (added 8/27/14) 

Practice Committee: Responsible for having the cones, balls, tackle suits, pads, etc. set out before practice and making sure it's all put away at the end of practice. Also responsible for the lights being turned off AND keeping up with who has the cooler.

Zac Ronk (Amish) (added 9/4/13)

Dain Stewart (Kirby) (added 9/4/13)

Jonathan Blalock (added 9/4/13)

Kwame Little

Hunter Garrity

Davis Campbell


Recruitment Committee: Responsible for recruiting new players and fans at all age groups.

Matthew Colson (205-561-8113) - head of committee as of 6/3/13

Social Committee: Responsible for planning at least 1 social activity for the entire rugby community per month. It can be anything really as long as it's fun. There should be a mix of activities where some are family friendly (picnic etc), bowling or can be a drink up. Just don't drink up too much.

Zach Blalock

Samuel Maina

Hunter Reynolds (Lips) (added 9/4/13)


Fitness Committee: Responsible for organizing at a minimum 1 non training day fitness activity each week. This can be as simple as Sunday Touch Rugby, Indoor Soccer, Mountain Biking, etc. These session will not be mandatory for players, but highly encouraged. They should also be fun.

Zach Blalock (Madeye) (added 9/18/13)

Brendan Smith

Tommy Babakitis


Hydration Committee: This committee will use team funds (or collect from others) to provide H20 and fruit for half time and during matches. Mineral water, Coconut water, oranges (quartered and on ice), bananas, and the like.

Note: as of 9/4/13 we are not allowing new members to the hydration committee until further notice. Please pick another committee, thanks

Michael Laney


Fund Raising Committee: This committee will raise funds for the club, outside of the dues and tournament entry fees.

Matthew Colson - head of committee

Larry Townley (Mudd)

Tasker Hewitt

Matt Gilmore

Brad Kilpatrick

Mark Wellingham

Spike (added 9/10/13)


Discipline Committee: This committee will make recommendations to the officers and coaches as to how to discipline team members in the event of any conduct, on or off the field, unbecoming of a Birmingham Vulcan.

Nick Kean

Tommy Babakitis

Zac Ronk

Michael Laney

Allen Kipp

Dain Stewart

Jon Sullivan





Dain Stewart (added 8/27/14)